Punjab imposes section 144 in 11 districts ahead of by-elections


From Our Correspondent

LAHORE: Punjab government has declared section 144 in 11 districts of province ahead of by elections on 20 provincial legislature seats yesterday. Section 144 will remain in force in 11 Punjab districts including Lahore till July 18, according to government notification. Carrying and exhibition of firearms as well as other weapons will be banned under section 144 in 11 districts.

Security guards of banks and other financial institutions will be exempted from ban, government notified. Polling for by-election on 20 general seats of Punjab Assembly will be held on July 17. The ECP announced by election on 20 provincial assembly’s seats vacated after defecting MPAs of PTI were de-seated. ECP de-seated 25 dissident members of PTI, who voted for PML-N’s Hamza Shehbaz Sharif in Punjab chief minister’s election including five members on reserved seats.