Philippines, Russian journalists win 2021 Nobel Peace Prize


NC Monitoring Desk

OSLO: Two journalists whose work has angered authorities in Russia and Philippines were awarded Nobel Peace Prize yesterday, honouring right to free speech which prize-giving committee described as under threat around globe.

Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov were given award “for their courageous fight for freedom of expression in Philippines and Russia,” Chairwoman Berit Reiss-Andersen of Norwegian Nobel Committee told.

“At same time, they are representatives of all journalists who stand up for this ideal in a world in which democracy and freedom of press face increasingly adverse conditions,” she added.

The prize is first for journalists since German Carl von Ossietzky won it in 1935 for revealing his country’s secret post-war rearmament programme.